Fact on Zionism, Israel, Palestine, Zionist thinkers, middle east peace and more

Anti-Israel Academic Boycott Resource Centre
UCU boycott, NATFHE boycott, AUT boycott and other academic boycotts targetting Israeli universities

Navigation: Anti-Israel Academic Boycott Resource Centre --> The UCU Boycotts --> Here

SPME Petition

By SPME, June 2007
Source: SPME Petition

SPME Petitions
An International Call To Academics and Professionals To Stand In Solidarity With Our Israeli Academic and Professional Colleagues

To: Academics and Professionals Standing In Solidarity With Our Israeli Academic Colleagues Against All Boycott Proposals and Actions

Please Join Us By Signing and Circulating
The Following
Solidarity Statement With Our Israeli Academic and Professional Colleagues

We are academics, scholars, researchers and professionals of differing religious and political perspectives. We all agree that singling out Israelis for an academic boycott is wrong. To show our solidarity with our Israeli academics in this matter, we, the undersigned, hereby declare ourselves to be Israeli academics for purposes of any academic boycott. We will regard ourselves as Israeli academics and decline to participate in any activity from which Israeli academics are excluded.

Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov
Nobel Prize - Physics
Distinguished Scientist
Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Lawrence S. Bacow
Tufts University

Claude Cohen- Tannoudji
Nobel Prize- Physics
Laboratoire de Physique de L'Ecole Normale Superieure
Paris, France

Alan Dershowitz
Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law
Harvard University

Stanley Deser
Dirac Medal
Ancell Professor of Physics
Brandeis University

David Gross
Nobel Prize Physics
Director,Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
Frederick W. Gluck Chair in Theoretical Physics
University of California at Santa Barbara

Avram Hershko
Nobel Prize Chemistry
Distinguished Professor at the Unit of Biochemistry
Rappaport Faculty of Medicine
(Israel Institute of Technology)

Roald Hoffmann
Frant H. T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters
Cornell University

Daniel Kahneman
Nobel Prize - Economics
Professor of Psychology
Princeton University

Eric R. Kandel
Nobel Prize - Medicine
University Professor
Columbia University

Roger Kornberg
Nobel Prize- Chemistry
Professor of Structural Biology
Stanford University

Arthur Kornberg
Nobel Prize- Medicine
Emeritus Pfeiffer Merner Professor of Biochemistry
Stanford University School of Medicine

Leon Lederman
Nobel Prize-Physics
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
University of Chicago

Marshall W. Nirenberg
Nobel Prize- Medicine
Biochemical Genetics
National Institutes of Health

David Politzer
Nobel Prize-Physics
California Institute of Technology

Jehuda Rheinharz
Brandeis University

Donna Shalala
University of Miami

Steven Weinberg
Nobel Prize-Physics
Josey Regental Professor of Science
University of Texas, Austin

Elie Wiesel
Nobel Peace Prize
Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities
Boston University

Frank Wilczek
Nobel Prize-Physics
Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Scholars for Peace in the Middle East Task Force on Countering Academic and Professional Boycotts

Paul Appelbaum
Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Psychiatry, Medicine & Law
Columbia University

Edward S. Beck
President, Scholars for Peace in the Middle East
Laureate Professor, School of Psychology
Walden University

John R. Cohn
Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University

Ruth Lichtenberg-Contreras
Vienna Natural History Museum
University of Vienna

Stanley Dubinsky
Associate Dean of the Graduate School
University of South Carolina

Awi Federgruen,
Charles E. Exley Professor of Management; Chair of Decision, Risk and Operations Division,
Columbia University Business School

Lisbeth S. Fried
Visiting Scholar
Frankel Center for Judaic Studies and the
Department of Near Eastern Studies
University of Michigan

Judith S. Jacobson
Associate Professor
Mailman School of Public Health Columbia University

Richard L. Lubman
Associate Professor Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
University of Southern California School of Medicine

Edward H. Kaplan
William N. and Marie A. Beach Professor of Management Sciences, Professor of Public Health, and Professor of Engineering
Yale University

Ed Morgan
Law Professor
University of Toronto

Joel Pachter
Professor of Pharmacology
University of Connecticut Health Center

Judea Pearl
Professor Computer Science
University of California- Los Angeles (UCLA)
Daniel Pearl Foundation

Edgar Pick
Director, the Julius Friedrich Cohnheim - Minerva Center
for Phagocyte Research
Head, the Ela Kodesz Institute of Host Defense
against Infectious Diseases
Incumbent, the Roberts-Guthman Chair in
Sackler School of Medicine
Tel Aviv University

Elihu D. Richter
Center for Genocide Studies
Hebrew University-Hadassah, School of Public Health and Community Medicine

Harvey A. Risch
Professor, Chronic Disease Epidemiology
Yale University School of Public Health

Bruce Rubenstein
Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
New York University School of Medicine

Marius Usher
Professor of Cognitive Psychology |
Birkbeck, University of London

Jeffrey Wielgus
Research Associate, Department of Life Sciences
University of British Columbia

For Further Information: Contact Dr. Edward S. Beck, President,
Scholars for Peace in the Middle East : Phone: 717.576.5038 or email ScholarsforPeace@aol.com

Other Petitions:

The Stop the Academic Boycott of Israel Petition to UCU - University and College Union was created by Peace in the Middle East Society and written by Robin Deutsch and Ben Kaminski (pitmes@googlemail.com).


The Undersigned


As an added security measure for signers of this petition to reduce the need to void anti-Israeli and anti-Semitic remarks that have been posted, as well as reducing the number of fraudulent signature postings, the authors might consider necessary to verify the authenticity of signatures. Unfortunately there are significant numbers of individuals who would like to sabotage the credibility and impact of this important precedent-setting petition. If you have any questions, please contact, Dr. Edward S. Beck, President, Scholars for Peace in the Middle East. Thank you for your understanding, support and patience.

Reproduced at Zionism On The Web for educational purposes only, please site the initial source as listed above

Related items: